//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Howdy!

So I’ve really been slacking about updating this site. Like really slacking. I’ve only seen one two movies in theaters since then (The Hangover 2 and X-Men: First Class) and one was incredible while the other felt like deja vu. I think you can figure out which one was which. I will continue to keep up with the DVD reviews but the in theaters portion is going to suffer because, quiet frankly, nothing good is coming out for a while. I’m going to try to go see Transformers 3 at midnight but it’s a long shot.

What I am excited about it my upcoming reviews on the ENTIRE 30 For 30 ESPN Film collection. If you are unfamiliar with these documentaries, they are a series of in-depth films about the last 30 years in sports and our lives in general. Topics range from Ricky Williams’ abrupt retirement from the NFL to Mike Tyson’s connection with Tupac Shakur to even the Boston Red Sox’s incredible comeback from down 2-0 to beat the New York Yankees. The production values are top notch and the directors are some of Hollywood’s best and brightest including Barry Levinson (The Natural), Ice Cube (The Player’s Club), Jeff Tremaine (The Jackass Trilogy) and even John Singelton (Boyz N The Hood).

Look out for the review of the first film, Kings Ransom, directed by Peter Berg (Friday Night Lights). It’s the inside story of Wayne Gretzky’s shocking trade from the Edmonton Oilers to the Los Angeles Kings, forever changing the face of not just two franchises, but two nations.

About Bobby Carmona

I like movies.....I guess.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a comment